We haven’t seen too many hot days this summer so it wasn’t until this week, when we’re supposed to have a mini-heat wave, that I really needed something cold and refreshing.  I have always wanted to try an aqua fresca as they look so yummy but didn’t want to be downing all that sugar.  So here’s my version of it.

Cantaloupe & Mint Agua Fresca

Serves 3

3 cups cantaloupe, chopped

3 – 4 fresh mint leaves

1 lime, juiced

1 1/2 cups water

1/8 teaspoon pure stevia extract

ice

  1. Put all the ingredients except the ice in the blender and turn it on.
  2. Pour over a tall glass of ice. 
  3. Slurp it down!

A traditional auga fresca is strained of any fruit pulp so that the liquid is clear but I skipped that step because I didn’t want to bother.  Plus, I would have missed out on all that fruity fiber.  I really like the mint and melon combination and the lime juice gives it a little bit of tartness.  And there’s no added sugar!  My daughter sucked down her cup and then moved onto mine. 

Oh, well.