I am so happy to be back in my kitchen again!  I missed cooking and making my husband wash all my dirty dishes that I am making up for lost time.  And there is no time to waste as I have a ton of Thanksgiving dishes to crank out.  First up is this super easy, no-cook cranberry relish that tastes A-mazing!  I got the recipe from Simply Recipes and tweaked it just a little.  For the cranberry sauce lovers, this is a fresh (literally) take on the condiment and it really is tasty.  If I had smell-o-vision, I’d be able to convey just how great a scent the mixture is when you take the top off the food processor.  But I don’t.  So you’ll just have to make it yourself.

The original recipe calls for churing the ingredients through a meat grinder.  I didn’t want to risk serving up a side of E. coli, though, with my relish so I opted for the food processor and it worked perfectly.  If you have an old school grinder that you dedicate for non-meat items, then by all means, go for it.

Cranberry Relish

Makes 4 to 5 cups

3 cups fresh cranberries (1 12-ounce package)

2 apples, peeled and cored

1 whole navel orange, quartered

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup Zsweet

1 to 2 tablespoons Grand Marnier (optional)

  1. Place cranberries, apples and orange in food processor and pulse until everything is finely chopped but not pureed.
  2. Transfer to mixing bowl and add honey, Zsweet and Grand Marnier.
  3. Let relish sit for at least one hour before serving.
  4. Store in refrigerator for up to a week.

The relish tastes great right out of the bowl but gets better the longer it sits.  I made this to go with Thanksgiving turkey and the sandwiches that will come the day after but I cannot help taking spoonfuls of it now.  Good thing it can be whipped up in minutes.

