In the past I have always enjoyed my morning coffee with a healthy dose of half-and-half or heavy cream but lately I’ve been favoring a great coconut milk based creamer (So Delicious).  But since I just ran out of my creamer and didn’t want to go to the store, I came up with my own.  It’s super simple and quick, if you don’t count the soaking time.  Cashews have a very creamy, smooth texture when blended so it makes a nice dairy substitute.

Cashew Creamer

Makes 3 cups

1 cup cashews, soaked several hours or overnight

2 cups water

1/8 teaspoon stevia (or 1 -2 teaspoons honey), optional

tiny pinch of salt

  1. Rinse and drain soaked cashews.
  2. Blend cashews with water, stevia and salt.
  3. Store in airtight container in the refrigerator.

There is no need to strain as you would with other nut milks.  This can also be made into cashew milk by increasing the water to 3 or 4 cups.  Other than coffee, cashew creamer can be used in smoothies and soups.  So, if you are avoiding dairy or just want to try something different in your next cup of joe, give this a whirl.

