I love chocolate – dark chocolate that is.  There are probably people out there who don’t like chocolate but I don’t know any of them.  I like it so much I buy bars of the stuff at a time and my pantry, as well as my purse, desk drawer and work bag, are never without it.  Most of the time I just break off pieces and savor the chocolate as is but when I crave something a little more involved, I try to incorporate all that dark chocolaty goodness in a recipe.

So for my first post, I am sharing a simple, spicy chocolate that’s a little exotic and really yummy.  Like, really yummy.

Spicy Dark Chocolate:

4 oz dark chocolate, broken into pieces

(I use equal parts 72% and 85% cocoa content)

1/4 to 1/2 tsp chile pepper

pinch of salt

  1. Melt chocolate over double boiler.
  2. Stir in chile pepper and salt.
  3. Pour into candy mold or free form on a silpat-lined cookie sheet and refrigerate until firm.

Mmmm.  The high cocoa content is very pronounced but the heat from chile is subtle and lingers.  I used a mix of cayenne pepper and a mild New Mexico chile powder with a smoky flavor.  Because I’m kind of a wimp when it comes to hot stuff, I started out with just a pinch of pepper.  But the bitter chocolate really calls for more heat to balance out the flavor.  Then I sprinkled some Maldon flake sea salt on the chocolate just because I wanted something salty.  Even though my husband didn’t care for the salt, my 15-month old daughter happily ate her piece.  Chocolate mustache, anyone?

While chocolate isn’t exactly primal, dark chocolate is lower in refined sugar and is a nice treat once in a while.  Now, I just need to work out the “once-in-a-while” part.

