On leisurely weekend mornings, I like to make a nice breakfast that feels a bit indulgent.  Belgian waffles certainly feel that way to me so I was eager to try this special recipe from FreeCoconutRecipes.com.  The waffles are made with cashew flour but since I didn’t have any, I took out the Cuisinart and made my own.  Cashews are one of my favorite things to cook and eat.  Contrary to popular belief, it is a seed from a drupe, and not a nut, that comes from the end of a cashew apple.  It has a slightly sweet flavor and is higher in fat compared to other nuts.  That high fat content, and creamy texture when blended, makes it a great ingredient to use in sauces and as a substitute for dairy.

I first made the waffles according to the recipe as written, minus the chocolate, and they were really delicious but also pretty dense.  Half a waffle later and I was really full.  Because I don’t make waffles too often, I like to make a bigger batch and freeze leftovers that can be toasted later on a busy morning.  Even though the first batch I made was tasty, it didn’t toast as crisply as I would have liked, most likely due to the denser texture.  So I made a few modifications and came up with a version that freezes well and toasts to crispy perfection.

Cashew Belgian Waffles

Makes 4 large round waffles

2 cups cashew flour

1/4 flax seed, ground

2 tablespoons organic raw honey

6 eggs

6 tablespoons coconut oil, melted

1/3 to 1/2 cup water

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

  1. Preheat and grease waffle iron.
  2. Mix all ingredients together and let sit for a few minutes to thicken.
  3. Ladle just enough batter to almost cover the iron.
  4. Cook until golden brown.

Having honey in the batter makes the waffle brown fairly quickly.  With my iron, it took no more than 2 minutes for the waffle to be done.  I have also omitted the honey, using stevia instead, in another batch and the color wasn’t as dark and took about 3 minutes to cook.  The fresh waffles will not be crispy first out of the iron – they’ll have more of a cakey texture.  The crispy part comes when they have been frozen then toasted.  Fill each little square pocket with butter and pure maple syrup and the heavens will open up and shine tasty happiness upon you.  Ahhh… yum.

