I make these crackers often but didn’t get to writing a post about them until I was reminded by a recipe from Elana’s Pantry, which she drew from Mark Sisson’s Primal Blueprint Cookbook.  I have both the Primal Blueprint and the Cookbook and they have really helped to change my diet for the better.  Elana’s blog also has a ton of tasty and easy recipes that are geared toward those seeking low-carb, gluten-free and whole foods and it’s a site I visit often. 

So back to the crackers…  These little crunchies can be adapted a million ways.  Season them however you like with whatever you have on hand and chances are they will taste great.  I really enjoy using “21 Seasoning Salute” that can be found in the spice section at Trader Joe’s and sprinkle it on all kinds of stuff.  It doesn’t contain salt so I use it pretty liberally.  Fresh herbs can also be used, just add a larger quantity.  This recipe work well using either blanched almond flour (fine grain without the almond skin) or almond meal (coarser grain with skin).   My version contains flax meal but you can easily use all almond if you choose. 

Savory Herb Crackers

1 cup almond flour/meal

1 cup flax meal

1 – 1.5 teaspoon sea salt (I prefer mine saltier)

2 – 3 tablespoons 21 Seasoning Salute (or substitute any other dry herb)

1 tablespoon olive oil (or melted coconut oil or butter)

2 tablespoons water

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. Mix all ingredients together until thoroughly combined.
  3. Roll dough to 1/8 to 1/4 inch thickness between 2 silicone baking sheet or pieces of parchment.
  4. Score dough into 2 inch squares.
  5. Place baking sheet on cookie tray and bake for 10 – 12 minutes. 
  6. Let cool completely before breaking crackers apart.

These crackers are a staple in my house.  My daughter knows exactly where they’re stored and is always reaching for them with her chubby little hands.  I feel good giving them to her instead of those unnaturally orange fishies that other toddlers at the playground get.

What crunchy snacks do you crave?

